The Beginning

Two years ago our dream of an adventure resort began. Captain and I have been planning, saving, and anticipating this day ever since. We became very frugal with our money; shopping mostly at Goodwill, going out to dinner less, drinking less alcohol and simplifying our insurance and cellular plans. Living a simpler life…

Today marks the beginning of our journey in search of the holy grail, our affordable Paradise on the Pacific.

Day 1

At 355am I awake. Only a few hours ago did I fall asleep…our flight leaves at 530am from Knoxville to Charlotte and then Miami. Last stop: Quito Ecuador as our final destination for the day. It is going to be a long one!

I notice the clock at 444. We are running a few minutes behind schedule. No worries. Who will be at the airport at 5 in the morning on a Tuesday? Apparently 200+ people! A line stretched from the security check point. What a way to start the trip.  My horoscope spoke of difficulties with travel in May and discouraged it but we had already bought our tickets! A minor speed bump to begin the journey-maybe just a test of patience…

The woman behind us was not so optimistic. “My first grand baby is being born and I can’t miss this flight!” Happy Birthday Liam!! Welcome to this adventure called Life! Enjoy the ride…

Still in our bare feet from security, we ran to the terminal in our bare feet and just as we arrived the cabin door closed right behind us. Making our way to our seats I noticed a pilot on standby sitting in Captain’s seat. Captain says, “Hey captain! Get up there and fly this plane! Unless you want me to…I done a few simulations in my day!”

All the time in line speaking with soon-to-be grandmother, I never made the connection we would be on the same flight! Much to my surprise (but not surprising at all), she was in the seat next to us . What were the odds in a line of 200 or more people for us to be on the small plane to Charlotte sitting next to one another. How about her having lived in the same city that Captain grew up in?

On our flight to Miami, Captain and I were seated between two business partners. I overheard the one say “Erin ” and thought she had been talking to me. “How would she know my name?” Would you believe me if I told you the second partner shared both my first AND middle name? How about the fact she had my exact opposite birthday?  True story.  All mine are.

The four-hour flight to Quito was even more entertaining. The young lady to my left opened up quickly and each of us shared so much to the other.   We talked about spirituality, death and dying, humanity, midwifery, and our hopes and aspirations.  Our conversations, I am sure, had more impact on the other than each of us may ever know.

The 3 girls behind me were on quite an adventure also. They had experienced a bit of synchronicity as well when they were able to land the last 3 seats on the plane in Miami. If events had not transpired as they did, the girls would have missed a flight to Ecuador entirely! The first two were health professionals interested in alternative health and preventative modalities. The third was born in New Orleans and attracted to the Amazon shamanism! How familiar this all sounded…

The guy sitting on Captain’s right was heading to Ecuador to meet his sister. She volunteers at an orphanage and cares for the little ones. How inspiring…the thought of belonging to a community and offering my time and services to benefit the lives of others excites me! Empowering communities with knowledge and skill is key in making this world a better place. We are all in this together and no matter where we go there will always others to serve…

My passion for traveling is always amplified when meeting so many wonderful people doing great things in this world. For quite some time, I had a very doom and gloom out look on the world. It was as if everything was going to hell. Throughout my recent travels, I have really began to see all the wonderful grassroot efforts happening all over the world.

Uranus in its current phase often brings people in and out of our lives very quickly. This is a difficult lesson for me to learn because often when I meet a new friend I am a loyal friend for life. Whether or not life long friends were made, I learned something from all of them and will cherish the memories made!

Our good byes were said to our new friends and off to the hotel me and Captain went.  We hopped into our cab and sped away, zipping in and out of the lines of traffic.  Everyone was driving so fast and stopping just as quickly.  I kept my eyes on all the cars around me, as if my defensive riding would keep us from crashing!  We had been driving at least 10 minutes when this particular car when whizzing by us.  The passengers were all jumping in their seats and waving at us like they knew us…they did!  It was the three girls from the plane!  What a way to top off the day…

I close my eyes and notice the clock. It says 11:11…sweet dreams.

